ICNC: 17 & Under Divisions
Date of Event Cricket Australia (Indoor): Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:02AM

The 17 and Under Boys and Girls divisions at the Indoor Cricket National Championships has seen Victorian domination across both competitions, with undefeated Victoria on top of the ladder in the Boys, and undefeated Victoria Blue leading the charge for the Girls.


With rostered games beginning on Saturday for both divisions, the competition is now in full swing, with all teams playing each other at least once already. 


17 and Under Girls


The eight team competition sees teams from Queensland, South Australia, the Australian Capital Territory and Western Australia, plus two each from New South Wales (Metro and Country) and Victoria (Blue and White) compete for the national title.


Saturday afternoon’s first matches saw Queensland and Victoria Blue walk away with four skin victories, whilst the ACT and South Australia also claimed early victories. Sunday saw two rounds of matches, with Victoria Blue and South Australia the only sides to claim multiple victories, but every side managed their first win of the tournament to ensure an even spread of points across the ladder heading into Monday’s games. 


A four skin victory to Queensland over Western Australia highlighted Monday’s matches, with the ACT and New South Wales the other victors, before Victoria Blue claimed all four skins in their derby with Victoria White. 


Tuesday saw matches spread over the whole day, with Victoria Blue adding to their favourites credentials with a huge 150-77, four skin win over the ACT. New South Wales Metro took six skins from their two wins, and Queensland managed five skins across their two victories. 


In Wednesday’s early games, New South Wales accounted for Western Australia and Victoria Blue ensured they kept their grasp on top spot with a win over South Australia. In the later games, Victoria Blue continued their winning run, taking all four skins in their thrashing of WA, Queensland and South Australia were the afternoon’s other winners. 



Leading runs scorers for 17 and Under Girls:

Georgie Martin NSW Ctry 129 runs

Jade Errington NSW Metro 123 runs

Annecy Homberg Vic White 114 runs

Kristen McCormack NSW Metro 112 runs

Acacia Davis   Vic Blue 101 runs       



Leading wicket takers for 17 and Under Girls:

April-Rose Liddell Qld 12 wickets

Chelsea Gan Qld 11 wickets

Emily Lawler   NSW Metro 10 wickets

Cassidy Perkins SA 10 wickets

Ryleigh Wotherspoon Qld 10 wickets 



17 and Under Boys



Only six teams are competing for the title of 17 and Under Boys National Champions, with sides from Victoria, New South Wales Metro, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia and the ACT all in the running for the major prize. 


Saturday afternoon’s opening matches in the 17 and Under Boys comp saw Victoria take all four skins against WA, South Australia and the ACT take two skins each and Queensland take three skins from their five run loss to New South Wales Metro. Sunday saw Western Australia claim their first scalp of the week, whilst Victoria and New South Wales also run out winners.


Monday’s fixtures saw the 17 and Under Boys play two sets of games, with Victoria, South Australia and Queensland the early winners, before the afternoon games saw the winners in Queensland, Western Australia and Victoria all take three skins from their matches. 


Tuesday again saw two sets of matches, with Victoria continuing their undefeated run thanks to wins over South Australia and Western Australia. New South Wales Metro claimed six games for the day, whilst Queensland and the ACT had a one win, one loss record for the day. Wednesday saw Victoria continue their surge, taking eight skins from their two wins, whilst every other side won one, and lost one of their two games. 



Leading runs scorers for the 17 and Under Boys

Jonathan D'Rozario Victoria 144 runs

Jordan Hesline Victoria 141 runs

Oliver Styles SA 137 runs

Jake Richter Qld 126 runs

Sam WeteringVic 115 runs



Leading wicket takers for the 17 and Under Boys

Harry Chittick  ACT 14 wickets

Jonathan D'Rozario Victoria 11 wickets

Jordan Hesline Victoria 11 wickets

Spencer Atterton SA 10 wickets

Last updated: Thursday July 11, 2019 10:04AM