Live: ICNC Grand Finals
Date of Event Cricket Australia (Indoor): Sat Jul 6, 2019 10:39AM

 Lord’s Taverners

 Victoria def. South Australia, 121 to 33. 


In the Lord’s Taverners Grand Final, South Australia batted first in the clash against Victoria. With the second and third skins making minus four and minus five respectively, ‘bash brothers’ Chris McQueen and Adam Pattinson put on 37 for the last partnership to ensure the South Aussies remained a chance. Victoria were in control for the whole battings innings, with 41 in for the first skin from Shaun Wilkie and Craig Whitehead giving Victoria an 88 run victory and handing the Lord’s Taverners Shield to Victoria for the first time since 2014.



21 and Under Men

Western Australia (106) def. by South Australia Red (111)

Batting first the Western Australians got off to a great start, with the pairing of Bailey O’Keefe and Bryden Emrich hitting 40 for the second skin, and Ben McGilvray and Kimberely Forrest hitting 35 for the fourth. The bowling of Josh Spall the highlight for the South Australians bowling innings, figures of 4/-13. The total of 106 was not quite enough, with the South Australians first two skins of 32 and 30 giving the Red’s the start needed to chase down the total, before the last skin of Josh Spall and Josh Lamerton getting the South Aussies across the line in the last over.



21 and Under Women

South Australia V Queensland

Queensland batted first in the 21 and Under Women’s Grand Final, Kirsten Davey and Stacey Rockliff put on 33 for the first skin, before scores of 25 and 27 for the second and third skins respectively set a total of 105 for the reigning champs, South Australia to chase. The South Aussies left it until the last over to get over the line, but back to back titles were sealed by the first skin of 39 by Rachael Dickinson and Taylah Gregory. 



Open Women

Victoria V Queensland

Ten years since Queensland’s historic ‘three peat’ in the Open Women’s National Championships, the Lightning have once again gone back to back to back and claimed their third National title in a row.




Homeside Victoria batted first in the Open Women’s Grand Final against Queensland, aiming to set a total out of reach for the two time reigning champs, the Lightning. The first skin for the Lightning, Ashleigh Doble and Emily Cramb hit a handy 29 runs to begin the quest for the ‘three peat’ in style. Legend Jude Coleman paired with young star Samantha Dixon hit a further 37, despite a direct hit run out from Briony Polkinghorne, to put the Queenslanders in a commanding position heading into the third pairing. Emily Vallance and Dulane Carson added 35 to the total before Megan Dixon and Allison Nagle ensured the Lightning had a score of 123 to defend. Victorian Captain Nicole Martin, Chloe Rafferty and Amy Jennings did their best with the ball to restrict the Lightning, taking valuable wickets during the course of the innings.


Martin and Elly Donald got the home side off to a strong start, hitting thirteen runs from the first over, before a run out off the bowling of Australian rep, Megan Dixon, restricted the pair to a total of 21 for the first skin. Amy Jennings and Adelaide Campion added 28 to the score before Briony Polkinghorne and Janelle Hayhurst matched the efforts of the first pair, scoring 21 runs. The final pair of Chloe Rafferty and Tamzyn Wright couldn’t stop the domination of Queensland’s bowling and fielding, scoring twelve to fall short of the total by 41 runs.


Leading the charge with the ball for the victorious Queenslanders was Captain Jude Coleman with 2/-2 and Meagan Dixon, with an inspiring spell of 3/-7. 


Open Men 

Victoria V Queensland


Queensland have claimed the Open Men’s and Women’s double in two eventful matches at Casey Stadium, Cranbourne. 



Batting first, the Perkins’ brothers could only manage twelve runs for Victoria’s first skin, with superb fielding from the Thunder a highlight for the packed out Casey Stadium crowd. Clive Rose and Travis Baker added twenty to the total and with the total at 32 going into the second two pairs, Jarrod Burns and Jack Craig had an uphill battle ahead to score a competitive total. The pair added eighteen, before Bradley Jones and Jarrod Armitage were dismissed twice in two balls to start their skin. With the score at 54 heading into the last over of the innings, the pair did well to take Victoria’s total to 64, despite losing multiple wickets throughout the skin. 


After defending 68 in last night’s thrilling Preliminary Final against the ACT, Victoria had belief going into their bowling innings. The opening pair for the Thunder, Ryan Dowse and Rob Fitzgerald, set the tempo for the innings, scoring 34 to start the run chase. Skipper Lyle Teske and Josh Dreaver put on 15 for the second skin, followed by Cameron Boyce, who courageously took to the court after injuring his thumb in the bowling innings, and Jamie Stuart. The pair added 19, before Rhys Dearness and Brandon Caust sealed the game, and the title in an eventful final skin, which saw five penalty runs taken off the Victorian total. 



Last updated: Saturday July 6, 2019 4:29PM