Eligibility and Classification for Lord's Taverners Shield


To compete in The Lord’s Taverners Shield a player must have an intellectual disability and it must be verified through an eligibility process.  The eligibility process has been introduced to promote classification within Australia and to ensure a level and fair playing field.


Sport Inclusion Australia administers this national/international eligibility process.


Defining intellectual disability:


“Intellectual Disability is a disability characterised by significant limitation both in intellectual functioning and in adaptive behaviour as expressed in conceptual, social and practical adaptive skills. This disability originates before the age of 18”



The Primary Eligibility Criteria


Based upon the definition above, the Sport Inclusion Australia Primary Eligibility Criteria to compete in intellectual disability sport is:


 1. Significant impairment in intellectual functioning, which is defined as a full IQ score of 75 or lower.

 2. Significant limitations in adaptive behaviour as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical adaptive skills.  This is defined as performance that is at least 2 standard deviations below the mean of, either:

               a.         One of the following 3 types of adaptive: conceptual, social, or practical skills.

               b.         An overall score on a standardised measure of conceptual, social and practical skills.

 3. Intellectual disability must be evident during the developmental period, which is from conception to 18 years of age.


Athletes must meet all 3 elements of the criteria to be eligible for consideration for having an intellectual disability.



For further information, contact:


Robyn Smith

Chief Executive Officer